top of page


Premiers and Champions

Back row - B.Wells, C.Geyer (Head Trainer), R.Splatt, R.Stalker, B.Jones (Trainer), L.Borrack

Fourth row - L.Templar, C.Howard, T.Thorpe (Trainer), W.Dunstan (Trainer), S.Halliday (Trainer), W.Wells, M.Haymes

Third row - F.Murphy, J.Ritchie, J.Wunhym (Sec.), L.Waller (Pres.) H.Lee (Prop. Steward), A.Spiers (Treas.), D.Murphy, M.Spittle

Second row - A.Fyffe, R.Carlyon, R.McLeod, W.Ebery (Vice-Capt), K.Rawle (Capt & Coach), J.Papworth, M.Lyle, F.Borrack, G.Jackson

Front - H.Packham, C.Holloway (Mascot) Absent - D.Dench

Score: Redan 17.9.111 d Ballarat 13.9.87

Best: Keith Rawle, Dinny Murphy, Len Templar, Bill Ebery, Max Spittle, Frank Murphy.

Goals: Robert Splatt 4, Keith Rawle 3, Max Lyle 2, Len Templar 2, Dinny Murphy 2, Allan Fyffe 2, Les Borrack, Jack Papworth.

In 1952 Daylesford was re-admitted along with a new club Ballarat North City (1961 their name was changed to North Ballarat).

Redan becomes the first club in the league to remain undefeated for a season. Redan were Premiers and Champions for the first time in club history and were coached by Keith Rawle. The reserves were also Premiers coached by Max Lyle, they defeating Geelong West by 36 points. The under 18’s win their fourth premiership in a row.

The R. W. Edward trophy was won by Herb Packham and the leading goalkicker was W “Bomber” Wells with 73 goals. Eight Redan footballers trapped in a lift at the Base Hospital for one hour after visiting “Bomber” Wells who was in hospital.

The end of season trip was by car to Adelaide.

bottom of page