top of page

Netball History

In 1994 netball made its debut at Redan, although the BFNL competition did start in 1991 with Beaufort winning the first three premierships. Carol Brennan was the netball coordinator in early years and she was persistent in growing the numbers of netball participants.


In 1999 new coach Lucinda Coobs had the three teams playing well (seniors, reserves and under 18.5) and showing much improvement. Rebecca Giblett took over as coach/coordinator in 2001, followed on by Kay Hutchings and Diane Edline in 2002. All three teams made the finals series in 2002 with the B grade team taking out the premiership.


In 2003 Trudy Hawker was coach/coordinator with Kerrie Moulthan and Chelsea Bird, again all teams making the finals. In 2004 the A Grade side played in its first grand final falling to Sebastopol by 21 goals.


The strength of the netball program continued through the hands of senior coaches Julie Burke, Kirsty Walsh (O’Rourke) and Emma Inverarity (Henry) as senior coaches between 2006 and 2009. The reserves team were runners up in 2006, 2007, 2008 and were premiers in 2009. The 18.5 team were premiers in 2006, 2008 and 2009.


The Ballarat Football Netball League introduced C grade into the competition in 2010 followed by D grade in 2014 and E grade in 2018. The under 18.5 competition also changed to under 19’s and seniors and reserves changed to A grade and B grade in 2010.


In 2011 Kate McMahon took over as A grade coach and continued this role for 5 years. It was under her guidance that the Redan A grade team won its first ever premiership defeating Lake Wendouree. The team consisted of Phoebe Knox, Stephanie Smith (Burns), Cass Peace (Hobbs), Sally Riley, Hollie Horbury (Frew), Erin Riley, Emma Blomeley, Tiarni Beasley and Kerrie Thornton (Dendle). It was a very successful year with the under 18.5 team and C grade team taking out the premiership and the B grade team were runners up.


2011 was an important year for the club with the opening of Redan’s netball court at the City Oval. Prior to this netballers trained and played at a number of secondary schools and quite often played at a different venue to the footballers on a Saturday. 2017 saw the opening of the junior netball court at Western Oval.


Our under 19 team (formally under 18.5) was a consistent contender in the finals series for an extended period of time. They featured in grand finals in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and were premiers in 2011 and from 2014-2017. This team was fortunate to have a number of experienced senior players coach them through this time.


On top of the success of the under 19 team we have all featured in the following grand finals: B and C grade premiers in 2012, B grade runners up in 2022.


In 2017 Ruby Parry was award the club first A Grade Ballarat Football Netball League Best and Fairest (Sally McLean Trophy). And in 2022 Mel Jones was award the league best and fairest for C grade.


We have also had two Redan premiership players go on to make a huge contribution in the AFLW. Sally Riley started her career at Adelaide picked at number 39 in the inaugural draft of 2016. She played with the Crows from 2017-2019 in which she was also Vice Captain. In 2017 she was part of the premiership team. Sally moved to the Gold Coast Suns as a player and vice captain for the 2020 and 2021 season.


2011 Premiers Gallery

bottom of page